Dented Coke Can: DailyCreate

Indentation (240b/i365)
Deep indentation in a Coca-Cola can:

Here’s my daily create, something with an indentation. This is the second image I’ve uploaded to Flickr today. I try to upload an iPhone photo every day, just to keep my own creative juices going. Some I like a lot, others not so much. But I’d never find the ones I like if I didn’t also create the others.

I favor the kind of treatment you see here, high-contrast black-and-white. These stark images offer an endless source of wonder at the immense diversity of forms that surround us every day.

Most of my post processing is done with a couple of apps, PhotoStudio and Filterstorm. Most images need some basic work, like cropping to select that portion of the raw image that looks most interesting. Some are then finished with the single application of a high-contrast b&w filter. Others require endless manipulation, adjusting gamma, contrast, tone mapping, etc. before I’m satisfied.

You can see hundreds more in this genre in my Flickr iphoneography set:

Dave’s iphoneography

9 thoughts on “Dented Coke Can: DailyCreate

  1. Wow, what a powerful collection and technique you have. I like the way the abstractness and simplification by the high contrast makes an ordinary object more curious, almost surreal. A dented can, a bowl, elevator buttons, a hydrant all seem part of one whole in your collection.

    You might see this in a future Daily Create exercise 😉

    • I’d like to see this approach as a daily create. After all, borrowing the title of a conference I once attended, “Creative Swiping” is what it’s all about.

  2. Well, it’s time for the Sept. 10 TDC and I’m feeling inspired by your gallery of high contrast black-and-white images. Got my eye open for the right shot and will be curious to see where the editing process takes me.

    I really like what you’ve said about the making of a photograph. Reminds me of Kelly Anderson’s
    “You don’t take, but make a photograph. ”
    http://kellydangeranderson.blogspot.com/2009_02_01_archive.html

    and, of course, Ansel Adams’s:
    “You don’t make a photograph just with a camera. You bring to the act of photography all the pictures you have seen, the books you have read, the music you have heard, the people you have loved.”

    • Thanks, Cris, for placing me (by implication) in such great company. But it’s true. My own concept of photography is that each image is made, hand-crafted, one step at a time, whether the steps be many or few.

  3. Pingback: ‘Procrastinating’…with DS106 tdc611 | Explorations in learning

Leave a Reply

